top of page
  • Writer's pictureBestial Form


In this new installment we have had to review the most recent album of the one-woman black metal project called HULDER (whose real name is Marz Riesterer ). "Godslastering: Hymns of a Forlorn Peasantry" is the debut album of this Belgian-American artist after the publication of a series of successful demos, EPs and compilations. As on previous occasions, HULDER herself was in charge of playing most of the instruments on the album (guitar, bass, keyboards and voice), while this time Sam Osborne was in charge of playing all the drum parts. Mastering was done by V. Kusabs ; cover art was the work of Mark Riddick; the layout was made by DF . ; and the album photograph was taken by Liana Rakijian . The eight songs contained in this album combine an agile and dissonant black metal with pieces that go from the melodic to the cacophonic. While the raw vocals compete on par with the rotten / corrosive riffs and the recalcitrant drumming that does not stop drilling our ears. Godslastering: Hymns of a Forlorn Peasantry ” presents us with a characteristic black metal sound that is broken down into two aspects. On the one hand, we find songs whose instrumentation is very decadent, extreme and heavy based on blast beats and noisy and primitive guitars ( “Creature of Demonic Majesty” and “Lowland Famine” ). And on the other hand, songs whose instrumentation has elements that are richer in melody on the basis of medieval keyboards or organs, acoustic interludes and atmospheric experimentation, thus playing with sonic elements somewhat more removed from extreme metal ( "Upon Frigid Winds", " Sown in Barren Soil "," De Dijle ", and " Purgations of Bodily Corruptions " ). In conclusion, HULDER has managed to create with this his debut album Godslastering: Hymns of a Forlorn Peasantry ”, a balanced work that draws from both dungeon synth and black metal. Its medieval melodies evoke that mysterious and enchanted forest, but at the same time the cold darkness of nature shows its face through the infernal voices and rotten riffs. The future of this artist is bright. A diamond in the rough in the world of black metal! HULDER are: Hulder - vocals, guitars, bass, keyboards Sam Osborne - drums (guest / session musician) Tracklist:

  1. "Upon Frigid Winds"

  2. "Creature of Demonic Majesty"

  3. "Sown in Barren Soil"

  4. "De Dijle"

  5. "Purgations of Bodily Corruptions"

  6. "Lowland Famine"

  7. "A Forlorn Peasant's Hymn"

  8. "From Whence an Ancient Evil Once Reigned"

Score: 8/10 Label: Iron Bonehead Productions Genre: Medieval black metal, Melodic black metal Author: Emil Gil Bretón

723 views0 comments


bottom of page